Route Files

Site Menu

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 10, 2024, 05:21:31 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Ride your own ride  (Read 17507 times)

Offline Greg

• There is nothing heroic about my member, trust me.
    • View Profile
Re: Ride your own ride
« Reply #45 on: August 16, 2012, 02:49:24 PM »
Ian,
   As I'm one of a very small handful of people who have arguable put on the most open-forum rides in the last 10 years *, I've grown weary of constant criticism from those that seam to rarely if ever conduct open-forum rides.
   Perhaps you could give us your insight as to what would make open-forum group rides more enjoyable from your perspective. I believe you probably have great organizational skills as you are involved in teaching motorcycling classes (albeit absolute novice, right?) and I'm sure some of those skills could be applied in this instance. Please lay out, step by step, they ways you feel a ride should be conducted.

Sincerely,
Greg not Steve

*not boasting, believe me. just a fact
« Last Edit: August 16, 2012, 02:57:18 PM by Greg »
These people have taught me more about riding than any day spent on a track: Larry B, Tony K, Vince J, Mr. Wonderful, V2Neal, Marty F, Kevin B, Devon W, Ehrich, Mike A, John L, Arnell, Kirk, Ray C

Track days are like climbing the rock wall at REI.
Perhaps I need to stop taking the high road.

Offline Vander

• Family Man
    • View Profile
« Reply #46 on: August 16, 2012, 03:32:37 PM »
These styles of group riding all have their suitable application, don't they?
What are the goals of a group ride?
•   Maximize enjoyment for the majority of the participants (including the leader)
•   Get everybody home safe with no damage (bike/self or other citizens/property)
•   No tickets or arrests

And the obstacles to those objectives?
•   Blended experience levels of riders