Route Files

Site Menu

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 03:28:08 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Converting street bike to track bike  (Read 14986 times)

Offline Aprilian

• some guys can't get enough horsepower!
    • View Profile
Re: Converting street bike to track bike
« Reply #45 on: December 07, 2011, 02:00:53 PM »
In addition to the tire being taller, check the manufacturer's web page for what size rim the larger tire is meant to fit.  In some cases, going up a size (usually width) will change the profile of the tire, meaning it will turn in at a different rate.   I personally don't think that the engineers at Honda got bored on the day they picked tire size and decided it would be fun to put an uncomon size on your bike (but then again, I am an engineer  ::)  ).
Ian

"Crossing the centerline at any time except during a passing maneuver is intolerable, another sign that you're pushing too hard to keep up. Even when you have a clean line of sight through a left-hand kink, stay to the right of the centerline." Nick Ienatsch, The Pace http://tinyurl.com/3bxn82

Offline Deplorable, thank you!

• I hate liars ! Keep the douchebags away, patrol !
    • View Profile
« Reply #46 on: December 07, 2011, 03:09:26 PM »
It is a 4" wide rear rim--back in the day racers ran 160's on that wide of rim....(perhaps the SV's rim is the same width?) So I do not think any 140 will be an issue, or even a 150 if she ends up trying that PP.

Of course she does have to make sure to get the tubeless Pirelli, as they also offer that same tire as a tube type!--but it seems likely I will be getting them for her, so that won't be an issue.