Route Files

Site Menu

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 02, 2024, 07:33:39 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Rattle Can Painting  (Read 1921 times)

Offline Jared

• View Profile
Rattle Can Painting
« on: October 24, 2010, 03:56:31 PM »
Hey All,

I picked up a set of bodywork over the summer which I have been rocking in an awesome shade of primer gray for a couple of months.  Now that the bike's up for the winter I am going to rattle can a paint job onto it.  I have zero experience w/painting bodywork, so looking for a bit of advice.  I'm not going for a flawless finish, but if there are a couple of easy steps I can take to make it come out better I'd be all ears.

Right now the bodywork has the primer from the manufacturer on it, and it's in pretty good shape.  I was planning on hitting it with a 3M sanding pad, wiping it down and then spraying it, any suggestions on additional steps?  My plan is also to do a two tone paint job so any recommendations on how to mask it off/what kind of tape to use would be awesome.,

TIA!

Offline RCKT GRL

• View Profile
Re: Rattle Can Painting
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2010, 09:59:05 PM »
I know a few guys on the MNSBR forum have done this with fantastic results.  U may wish to post there as well (in the track sub-group) & see what u sort of answers u get.  I'd have to say that the blue painters tape we use to tape off lights & such for DCTC days would work great.  Comes off easy and zero residue. ;D

Keep us posted with updates & pics
~D
Those who have actually NEVER tried riding the track could learn a thing or 10 about being a better streetrider; because let's be honest; none of us (Greg) are as great as we think we are. LMAO!

Offline dl

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2010, 05:32:18 AM »