Route Files

Site Menu

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 30, 2024, 02:00:59 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Hello from Cottage Grove...  (Read 3622 times)

Offline 2whl-hoop

• View Profile
Hello from Cottage Grove...
« on: February 06, 2012, 10:12:04 AM »
I ran across this forum a few days ago when I was googling stuff and ran across a post in here that I realized was made by the guy who bought my FJR last summer.

I've been riding motorcycles since 1988 when I bought a cm400t from a friend and then, shortly afterward, replaced it with a Yamaha Radian. Since then I've owned a couple of RZs, a CBR 600, SV650, ZX6R, ZX10R, and a Triumph Speed Triple. I bought the FJR new in '08 and rode it solo on a loop out to the west coast that summer, the following year I took another solo trip through Wyoming, Utah, Arizona and Colorado (not to mention S.Dakota and Nebraska).

Currently I'm on a WR250R for which I've gotten a set of motard wheels. I mostly commute with it, but in 2010 I trailered it, along with a couple of friends bikes, to Moab, where we rode the White Rim and several other trails in the area. I'm not sure if the 250 is going to cut it as my only ride, I couldn't quite get the handling set up right with the 17" inch wheels (wrong tire size, I think). I've done some 300+ mile days on it, though, and I may try to tag along on a ride or two with the group here. 

Offline carlson_mn

• View Profile
Re: Hello from Cottage Grove...
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2012, 02:20:00 PM »
I'm the FJR guy he's talking about.  Welcome Ben.  Most of the good rides to join off the forum are 400+ miles because they go fairly deep into SW Wisconsin.  Keep your eyes open for a Bandit 1200 or 1250 or similar bike if you feel the itch for a more comfortable yet also nimble/sporty bike on the cheap.  I also like the idea of some of the BMW twin cylinder bikes like the F800ST or GS but they're so damned expensive. 
- Matt from Richfield